St Albans Cricket Club 1XI v Cockfosters I on Sat 03 Sep 2016 at 12:30
Match was Abandoned

Match report The final chapter of the 2016 season was no tense, dramatic affair. That foe of the cricket season, heavy rain, left both Saints and Cockfosters with 10 points but with the visitors left rueing a missed chance to win the concluding match of the Division 2B season.

Asked to bat on a green pitch, Saints were struggling early on at 17-2, with Mabuza out second ball in his last innings. Adam Hounslow, with his third fifty of the season (and an overall haul of 399 runs) was the mainstay of the opening 20 overs. Tom O'Toole, making his First XI debut at 14, took a while to pick up his first run but determination and good technique brought 11 runs in a 50 partnership with Hounslow. After they, and Howeson, departed, James Rosson & Max Capaldi rebuilt until the latter was caught at mid-off from the seventh ball of an over. Wickets fell at regular intervals with only Rosson, with a steady 28, and a late flurry from Phil Caley, 23 not out, saw Saints to 160.

Cockfosters batted with purpose as rain threatened to curtail their innings early. Charlie Smith made the breakthrough, removing skipper, Barker, before Jacob Winfield picked up 2 wickets in 3 balls. At 39-3 a counter attack was launched by Sayers whose 47, from 19 balls, contained 6 fours and 3 sixes. It was in vain, as the drizzle which had fallen during most of the visitors innings worsened to rain and the players departed after 14 overs. Within the hour the game was abandoned and all retired to the bar.

With almost all Herts League matches called off, it left Saints 4 points short in the Divisional title race. Mabuza finished with 649 runs with Hounslow, Capaldi, Howeson & Caley all breaking the 300 mark. Beks also picked up 44 wickets with Capaldi claiming 30 and Daniel Rosson 18.

Division 2A beckons in 2017

St Albans Cricket Club 1XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
13w 2lb 
for 10 wickets

(45.5 overs)
Sandipan Chanda ct T Sayers b T Sayers 2 11 8 25.00 2
Adam Hounslow ct C Stead b T Hutton 55 78 59 10 93.22 1
Mbekezeli Mabuza ct C Stead b T Sayers 0 5 2 0
Tom O'Toole st D Becker b S Barker 11 53 55 20.0
Matt Howeson lbw S Barker 0 8 2 0
James Rosson st D Becker b J Stead 28 67 64 2 43.75
Max Capaldi ct S Barker b J Stead 13 26 38 1 34.21
Jacob Winfield Run out  9 14 8 1 112.50
Phil Caley Not Out  23 34 26 2 88.46
Charles Smith lbw J Stead 0 1 1 0
Daniel Rosson lbw T Hutton 4 9 14 28.57

Cockfosters I Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Tony Sayers10.0234217.003.40
Craig Hutchins5.001900.003.80
Simon Hutchins6.012800.004.67
Sam Barker10.0324212.002.40
T Hutton6.5029214.504.24
James Stead8.012438.003.00

Cockfosters I Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 3 wickets
98 (14.0 overs)
Sam Barker ct S Chanda b C Smith 16 20 21 4 76.19
Chris Stead ct S Chanda b J Winfield 15 31 22 3 68.18
D Becker ct A Hounslow b J Winfield 4 13 7 1 57.14
Dominic Sweeting Not Out  5 26 14 35.71
Tony Sayers Not Out  47 24 19 6 3 247.37
Craig Hutchins  
James Stead  
Simon Hutchins  
Michael Levy  
T Hutton  
J Barker  

St Albans Cricket Club 1XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jacob Winfield6.0140220.006.67
Mbekezeli Mabuza2.001000.005.00
Charles Smith5.0134134.006.80
Daniel Rosson1.001400.0014.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Chris Mountain