St Albans Cricket Club 2XI v Ickleford II on Sat 23 Jun 2018 at 13:00
St Albans Cricket Club Won 55 runs

Match report On a hot day at the CP Amit Rajani won the toss and elected to bat, a wise move one felt and at 60 for 0 his decision was well justified.

However, as with every St Albans team throughout the decades 60 for 0 soon became 84 for 4, Ash Dean being the 4th man out for 42.

Wickets continued to tumble and at 170 for 9 St Albans looked well short of a half-decent total.

In stepped number 11 Sammi Kumar, we are still wondering why he didn’t bat ahead of Charlie Smith (and James Rosson….). With the support of St Albans own Mr Cricket “Phil Caley” the 10th wicket put on 56 runs posting a total of 226. Phil Caley was out in the 49th over for 64, leaving Sammi stranded on 20 not out.

Ickleford started their innings cautiously, with fine opening spells from Charlie and Ash, backed up by a miserly spell from Amit Rajani. As the run rate increased, wickets fell steadily, being shared around (apart from Charlie Smith whose wicket tally equalled his runs for the day), Richard O’Toole with the pick of the figures taking 4-33 from his 8.4 overs. Eventually Ickleford were bowled out for just over 170 in the 43rd over, thank goodness as we were looking down the barrel of another late one!

Key people on the day, Phil Caley 64 not out and Sammi Kumar 20 not out, without that 10th wicket partnership we would have lost.

St Albans Cricket Club 2XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 10 wickets

(48.0 overs)
Andy Rudlin Caught  22
Ashish Dean Caught  42
James Rosson Caught  0
Zach West Bowled  5
Richard O'Toole Lbw  13
Phil Caley Caught  64
Moksudul Islam Bowled  10
Amit Rajani Caught  11
Joe Button Bowled  0
Charles Smith Lbw  0
Sammy Kumar Not Out  20

Ickleford II Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Ickleford II Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
171 (41.4 overs)

St Albans Cricket Club 2XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Charles Smith7.012300.003.29
Ashish Dean10.0333216.503.30
Sammy Kumar5.0115115.003.00
Amit Rajani7.0220210.002.86
Joe Button6.0140140.006.67
Richard O'Toole8.403348.253.81

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :